Mathematical Science Department

Dr. Julius ODILI

Head of Department, Mathematical Sciences


The Department of Mathematical Sciences was one of the Departments created at the opening of the University. At its inception, the department was called Mathematics and Computer Science but was later changed to Mathematical Sciences. The department had twenty (20) students at the beginning; however, it has grown to a total number of eighty four (84) students. The department began with two (2) teaching academic staff and one (1) non-teaching academic staff as pioneer staff, but, it has presently increased to ten (10) academic staff and five (5) non-academic staff.

Mathematics and Computer Science B.Sc. degree programmes were the two programmes the department started with in February, 2017. The B.Sc. Information Technology programme was later approved by the NUC after the verification exercise of October 2018 at the commencement of the 2018/2019 academic session. The department has well equipped software and hardware laboratories.